Governors Teaching and Learning Council

A welcome from the Teaching and Learning Council Chair

Dear Parents/Carers,

The Teaching and Learning Council work together in close partnership with the Head of School to focus on, manage and monitor, the specific needs and expectations of teaching and learning at Finchingfield St John Baptist C of E Primary Academy. We are an active Teaching and Learning Council elected by and representing the Church, Trust, Parents, and Staff.

The Teaching and Learning Council meet four times a year and work hard to ensure through these meetings and visits to the school we know the school very well.

Yours faithfully

Chair of the Teaching and Learning Council.

Current Governing Body Members

Directors – Canonium Learning Trust

Teaching and Learning Council – Start date April 2020

Michael Mitchell Appointed April 2020 (4 years)(Appointed by Trust)

Michael is the Co-Vice Chair, and appointed to the T&L Council Governors by Finchingfield Parochial Church Council. He has two sons at Finchingfield in the upper and lower key stages. Michael is an Associate Architect for an international practice, based in London.

Francis Hunter  Appointed April 2020 (4 years)( Elected by parents)

Francis has two children currently at the school in the upper and lower key stages.

Catherine Emmett Appointed April 2020 (4 years)(Elected by parents)

Cath is the Co-Vice Chair. She currently work as a children’s writer so has a deep interest in children’s literacy and reading for pleasure.  Her degree is in Law and Accounting, and she previously spent 15 years working in the financial markets.  Whilst in that role, Cath spent time volunteering in East London schools, helping with financial literacy, public speaking and mentoring local children.

Reverend Alex Shannon Appointed October 2020 (4 years)(Ex-officio)

Reverend Alex joined the Teaching and Learning Council in September 2020. He is passionate about ensuring the school has great links with the Church.

Ally Stanger Appointed April 2022 (4 years)(Appointed by Trust)

Ally is the Safeguarding lead for the Teaching and Learning Council. She has extensive experience in schools, previously working as a teacher.

Staff Members Sept 2022

Mrs S Metson – Head of school – Appointed February 2023 (Ex-officio)

Mr M Hawrylak – Executive Headteacher – Appointed October 2022 (Ex-officio)

Mrs M Nixon – Staff representative – (Appointed January 2022)(Elected)